Super Fruity Baked Molasses Oatmeal!

You know what’s impressive?  Getting in 1.5-2 servings of fruits at your first meal of the day!

Now, I’m a veggie person.  I love fruit, sure—the sweetness, the portability, the plump texture—but I feel like I can do more with vegetables.  I can make them spicy or savory or crunchy or roasty or creamy.  They go well with every single meal of the day, and frankly, they’re even easier to fit into snacks for me.  Fruit with dinner is possible, but it’s usually a compote or bake, like whole cranberry sauce or baked apples.  And cranberry sauce doesn’t go well with vegetarian enchiladas or red bean steamed buns.

Anyway, I fit one banana and half of an apple into my breakfast this morning, so I’m almost set for the day, fruit-wise.  It’s a good feeling.

Here’s how I did it: I made an oatmeal bake.I’ve read several articles for oatmeal bakes, and they usually say things like, “It’s like eating a cookie for breakfast!”
I don’t know about you, but I don’t like the idea of eating a cookie as my breakfast.  I might have one in the morning if it’s around, but I won’t call it my breakfast.  Breakfast is supposed to be the right way to start your day, and I’m not going to kill that by having refined sugars and simple carbs and empty calories and all the other exploding, blowing up, kaboom apocalypse things like that.
So I made my own oatmeal bake, and it is not like a cookie.  It is tasty and fun and vitalicious and warm. It is a good breakfast.

Recipe for two:

2/3 cup oats (I use rolled.  You use what you have.)
2 t baking powder
pinch of salt
dash of cinnamon
1 T molasses
1 egg
½ cup milk plus extra for garnish
2 bananas, sliced
1 apple, sliced thin

Preheat the oven to 350.  I promise you’ll be done with your prep by the time it’s ready.
Prep a medium-sized, ovenproof saucepan with a thin coat of butter, then combine the oats, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in the pan. Give those a good stir.  Then whisk in the molasses, egg and milk.  Make sure everything is well combined.  Next, layer on the banana and apple slices.  I did a pattern, but honestly, just dump everything in if you like.

Once the oven is preheated, stick the pot into the oven and let it bake for about 10-12 minutes, depending on how puffy and done you like your bakes. Less time for more stickiness, more time for more shape holding.
When it’s done, run a spatula around the edges of the pot to release the bake, then tip it upside down over a large plate or bowl for an upside-down cake style, then divvy up the portions.  It should fall out pretty nicely.  If you don’t care about the shape or pattern, ladle it out into two bowls.  Pour some milk over the portions for a nice porridge effect.  Voila!

This recipe is sweet, and the bananas caramelize nicely while baking.  The milk and egg add good proteins to the dish as well, and it’s all vegetarian! If you’re only doing one portion, I recommend leaving out the egg, or using a half-egg portion of eggbeaters.  It won’t puff up as nicely without the egg, even with extra baking powder and a touch of oil, but the egg tends to congeal and act like a baked egg instead of an ingredient.  Regardless, it’s still tasty and fun and vitalicious and warm.

How do you all get your fruit in each day?  Are you a fruit person or a vegetable person, like I am?

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Super Fruity Baked Molasses Oatmeal!

  1. Lauren says:

    You know, I think I’ll try making this for mom and Tim some morning as a surprise. Sounds easy and yuuuum!

Leave a Reply

